Refugees and Rescuers

My Blog today is a poem inspired by the work and bravery of the men and women of the Irish Navy on board the L.É. Niamh and L.É. Eithne. When I watched them on the Late Late Show I felt I wanted to write something from both sides of the boat.

LE Eithne

 

REFUGEES AND RESCUERS

I’m sure you tasted the joy of expectation
I’m sure you tasted salt on your lips

I’m sure your heart swelled with anticipation
as the boat lifted on the crest of a blue Mediterranean wave.

I’m sure your arms were as full as your heart
as you strapped your infant tight to your breast

And gripped tiny hands to keep them close, because
there’s overcrowding on the boat and chaos all about.

I know your emotions must have been as turbulent as the sea,
leaving your home for a land unknown.

I know this, for I am a mother like you and
I would want my children to live free too.

I am sure your soul was swamped with terror
Just as the boat was swamped with waves, and

I’m sure you looked at your children
Determined not to make a choice

Which ones to take
Which one to leave

Three children
Two hands

One sinking dinghy
No life jacket.

I know you must have cried out to your God
Though perhaps your cry was drowned by the roar of the sea

But you must have known He’d heard your silent plea
As strong arms lifted you from the stormy sea

To the shelter of an Irish Naval Vessel
To hear an Irish welcome. Then

To see the light of an Irish smile
And the courage of the women

And men of the Irish Navy
Aboard the L.É. Eithne and Niamh

 

Eithne Reynolds

The L.É. Samuel Beckett is now in the Mediterranean continuing this great work.

2 thoughts on “Refugees and Rescuers

Leave a Reply

