Requiem for Japan

Requiem for Japan

If I was a musician I would write a requiem for you
A crash of cymbals, to herald the dawning of that deadly day,
When the seabed shook, and nature took upon herself
The near annihilation of a nation.

My timpani would measure your slowly, fading heartbeats,
Violins would wail and screech your pain
Flutes and oboes, the whimpering of your children
Cellos, the calm after the storm – in Paridisum.

And I would stand tall on my rostrum, and conduct
My requiem for Japan
And watch my tears fall, insufferably sad
Amid the rests and pauses of my composition,

But, I am just a poet, and only have words
Drowned in a tsunami of grief and destruction.
But, oh Japan, if I was a musician
I would write a requiem for you.

© Et 2011

2 thoughts on “Requiem for Japan

Leave a Reply

